FAQ


In this section, you will find answers to questions frequently asked by students wishing to study French at École Québec Monde.
 
If you need additional help with information or registration procedures, please contact us directly at info@ecolequebecmonde.ca . We will be happy to answer you as soon as possible.
 



Do I need a visa to study in Canada?
You do not require a Study Permit if your French immersion program lasts 26 weeks or less, but you might need a Temporary Resident Visa to visit Canada. Please go to the official website of the Canadian government for all the information you will need about various Canadian visas.
 
Do I need a Quebec Certificate of Acceptance (CAQ) to study in Quebec?
You do not need to apply for a CAQ if your French immersion program lasts 26 weeks or less. For information regarding studies in Quebec, please go to the official website of the Quebec government.
 
If I do not have a CAQ, how long am I allowed to study in Quebec?
You may study in Quebec for up to 26 weeks without having to obtain a CAQ.
 
And if I want to stay more than 26 weeks?
Please go to the official website of the Quebec government to obtain more information on this subject.
 
Who needs a letter of acceptance from the school and how can I get one?
International students who need a Visa or a Study Permit also need a letter of acceptance from École Québec Monde. École Québec Monde will send you this letter as soon as you pay the registration fee and, if applicable, the accommodation administration fee, as indicated ►here.
 
Can I work while I study?
If you want to work, you will need a work permit, unless your country has a special agreement with Canada or Quebec. For more information please go to the official website of the Canadian government.



Before courses start, how does École Québec Monde determine my French level?
All students take a written placement test on their first day at École Québec Monde. The test is followed by a face to face oral assessment.We use both the written test and interview to evaluate the level of the students so as to place each one of them in the relevant group or design the ideal study program in consideration of their needs and goals.
 
How many levels of instruction are there at École Québec Monde?
There are 6 levels at École Québec Monde, ranging from "Perfect Beginner" (ÉQM 0) to "Advanced" (ÉQM 5).
 
When should I start taking my courses?
Complete beginner students should register on the dates that correspond to Arrival ÉQM level 0. Students from other levels should register on the dates that correspond to Arrival ÉQM level 1 to 5. The calendar is available ► here.
 
What training do your instructors have?
Each École Québec Monde instructor has a university degree in an area related to French or teaching and has language teaching experience.
 
After I have registered for a group course, can I add on some hours of individual instruction?
Yes, you can, but note that from June to August, our high season, it is possible that there is no more availability. It is always advisable to register for individual lessons as soon as possible, especially during the high season.
 
If I do not know any French at all, can I register for courses?
Yes. Students with no knowledge of French - ÉQM Level 0 - need to consult the calendar ►here to know which dates are reserved for them. Please note that a typical EQM level 1 student knows a few words of French: the alphabet, numbers up to one hundred and some basic vocabulary.
 
What is involved in a typical course at École Québec Monde?
We put into practice all aspects of language learning with an emphasis on communication and oral comprehension. Group courses generally include the following key elements:
Guided exercises for oral expression and listening comprehension
Vocabulary and structures
Homework assignment and correction
Exercises for reading comprehension and written expression
Communication and oral expression activities

Will I get some sort of certificate at the end of the course?
Yes. Students receive a certificate indicating the name of the program and the number of hours completed.  Furthermore, students enrolled for 2 weeks and more also receive a qualitative assessment from their teacher. Both documents are signed by the director and the academic director, and by the teacher when applicable. Obtention of the certificate and the qualitative evaluation requires at least 80 percent attendance.
 



When do I need to register?
We recommend that you register at least four weeks before courses start. This is all the more important if you register to our homestay program since placement is done on a first paid-first served basis.
 
When to start an immersion program?
It is important to consult our calendar ►here before enrolling in a French immersion program. Complete beginner students should register on the dates that correspond to Arrival ÉQM level 0. Students from other levels should register on the dates that correspond to Arrival ÉQM level 1 to 5.
 
How long do the sessions last at École Québec Monde?
The concept of sessions does simply not exist at École Québec Monde. The length of your stay is at your own discretion. We do suggest a minimum of two weeks so that you get the most out of your language experience.

What are the Civic Holidays during which the school is closed?
Please take note that École Québec Monde is closed during the following Holidays:
New Year's Day - January 1st
Good Friday - The Friday preceding Easter
National Patriots' Day - The Monday preceding May 25
Québec National Day - June 24
Canada Day - July 1st
Labor Day - First Monday of September
Thanksgiving - Second Monday of October
Christmas - December 25
and the week between Christmas and New Year's Day.
You are welcome to consult the calendar ►here for more details.

When is my payment due?
Payment must be made in full 14 days before the start of French immersion courses at École Québec Monde. An initial payment must be made at registration if an entry visa for Canada is required.
 
How much does a French immersion stay at École Québec Monde cost?
The cost of an immersion stay is based on the program you select and the number of weeks you decide to study.
 
How do I register?
Since you are already on our website, the easiest way is to Register online ►here. You can also send in your registration form by email, by fax or by mail making sure that you have filled in all the information requested.
 
What happens if I cancel my registration at École Québec Monde?
The cancellation policy is available ►here. Please read carefully.
 
What is the refund policy if I am refused entry by the immigration services?
For foreign students, an official letter of refusal from the Canadian Embassy is required for reimbursement. Please see ►here for more details.
 
Can someone pick me up at the airport?
No. Due to delays, cancellations and other common problems, we must stop offering the airport transfert on arrival. Québec City Airport offers a taxi service costing approximately $ 35. However, if you wish, we can organize transportation on departure, whether to the airport, the terminus or the train station. Arrangements are made directly at École Québec Monde.
 
Do I need health insurance coverage to study at École Québec Monde?
Medical insurance is mandatory for all students of École Québec Monde. Canadian students are covered by their provincial health insurance. It is important to check what is the procedure for reimbursement and compensation. Please note it is essential to bring your health insurance card. Non-Canadian students attending École Québec Monde must submit, before the start of classes, proof of the medical insurance contracted prior to departure. École Québec Monde offers the possibility to subscribe to its medical insurance plan at the time of registration. It is also possible to do so, on site, before start of classes. See more information ►here.



What type of accommodation is offered by École Québec Monde?
You are invited to register to the homestay program offered the members of our superb team of Francophone hosts and hostesses.

When do I need to register?
We recommend that you register at least four weeks before starting classes. This is particularly important if you register during the months of June, July and August - during peak season - since placement is done on a first-come, first-served basis.
 
Do the arrival and departure dates of my homestay program have to be the same as the dates of my courses?
Usually, students arrive on the Sunday before the start of their classes and leave on the Saturday following the end of their course. All additional nights are invoiced to the student and are subject to availability. Municipal bylaws impose a limit of one (1) additional night at the beginning and one (1) night at the end of the immersion program.
 
Where are the homestays located?
Some homestays are located within walking distance of École Québec Monde. All can be reached by bus. Your bus ride might take 10 to 45 minutes depending on where your homestay is located.
 
Who are the hosts and hostesses?
Our team consists of French speaking hosts and hostesses with whom we have been collaborating, for the most part, for several years. We know each one of them personally and have visited their home, paying a special attention to the comfort of the student's living space.
 
Can I contact my homestay before my arrival?
Yes, indeed! We strongly encourage you to contact your homestay as early as possible before your arrival. That way, you can be certain that there will be someone to welcome you. École Québec Monde will send you the contact information for your homestay as soon as your placement is confirmed.  
 
Can I change homestay?
Yes. As indicated ►here, a fee applies to all requests of change. In addition, unless it is an emergency, the change takes effect the Sunday following the reception of the request.

© 2018 École Québec Monde | Web programming: IGM Informatique inc

FAQ


Vous trouvez dans ce volet la réponse aux questions fréquemment posées par les étudiants qui désirent apprendre le français à École Québec Monde.
 
Si vous ne trouvez pas réponse à votre question, nous vous invitons à nous contacter directement à info@ecolequebecmonde.ca. Nous serons heureux de vous répondre dans les plus brefs délais.
 



Ai-je besoin d’un visa pour étudier au Canada ?
Vous n'avez pas besoin d'un permis d'études si votre programme d'immersion française dure 26 semaines ou moins, mais vous pouvez avoir besoin d'un visa de résident temporaire pour visiter le Canada.  Consulter le site officiel du gouvernement du Canada pour trouver toute l’information requise concernant les différents visas et permis canadiens.  
 
Ai-je besoin d'un Certificat d'Acceptation du Québec (CAQ) pour étudier au Québec ?
Vous n’avez pas à demander le CAQ si votre programme d'immersion française dure moins de 26 semaines. Pour des renseignements concernant les études au Québec, veuillez consulter le site officiel du gouvernement du Québec.
 
Si je n’ai pas de CAQ, combien de temps puis-je étudier au Québec ?
Sans CAQ, vous pouvez étudier pendant un maximum de 26 semaines au Québec.
 
Si je veux rester plus de 26 semaines ?
Consultez site officiel du gouvernement du Québec du gouvernement du Québec pour obtenir plus de renseignements à ce sujet. 
 
Qui a besoin d’une lettre d’acceptation de l’école et comment puis-je m’en procurer une ?
Les étudiants internationaux qui ont besoin d’un visa ou d'un permis d'études ont aussi besoin d’une lettre d’acceptation d'École Québec Monde. École Québec Monde vous envoie cette lettre dès que vous avez payé les frais d'inscription et, s'il y a lieu, les frais d'administration hébergement, tel qu'indiqué ►ici.
 
Est-ce que je peux travailler pendant que j’étudie ?
Pour pouvoir travailler, vous avez besoin d’un permis de travail sauf si votre pays a une entente spéciale avec le Canada ou le Québec. Pour plus de détails, visiter site officiel du gouvernement du Canada.



Comment École Québec Monde détermine mon niveau avant le début des cours ?
Tous les étudiants doivent passer un test de classement écrit dès le premier jour à École Québec Monde. Le test est suivi d’une entrevue en face à face. Nous utilisons à la fois le test écrit et l'entrevue pour évaluer le niveau des étudiants de manière à placer chacun d'eux dans le groupe approprié ou pour concevoir le programme d'étude idéal en considération de leurs besoins et objectifs.

Quels sont les niveaux de français qui sont enseignés à École Québec Monde ?
École Québec Monde offre 6 niveaux échelonnés de « Débutant complet» (ÉQM 0) à « Avancé » (ÉQM 5).
 
Quand dois-je commencer mes cours ?
Les étudiants de niveau débutant complet devraient s'inscrire aux dates qui correspondent à Arrivée niveau ÉQM 0. Les étudiants des autres niveaux devraient s'inscrire aux dates qui correspondent à Arrivée niveaux ÉQM 1 à 5. Le calendrier est disponible ►ici.
 
Quelle formation possèdent vos professeurs ?
Les professeurs d'École Québec Monde ont tous un diplôme universitaire dans un domaine lié à la langue française ou à l’enseignement et une expérience en enseignement des langues.
 
Si je m’inscris à un cours de groupe, est-ce que je peux décider, une fois sur place, d’ajouter des heures en cours individuel ?
Oui, vous le pouvez, mais notez que de juin à août, notre haute saison, il est possible qu'il n'y ait plus de disponibilités. Il est toujours recommandé de s'inscrire aux cours individuels dès que possible, surtout pendant la haute saison.
 
Si je n’ai aucune connaissance en français, puis-je m’inscrire à vos cours ?
Oui, mais les étudiants qui n’ont aucune connaissance de la langue française - Niveau ÉQM 0 - doivent consulter le calendrier ►ici afin de connaître les dates qui leur sont réservées. Veuillez noter que les étudiants de niveau ÉQM 1 savent l’alphabet, les nombres de 1 à 100 et possèdent un vocabulaire de base.
 
Qu’est-ce qu’un cours type à École Québec Monde ?
Nous mettons en pratique tous les aspects de l’apprentissage des langues en mettant l’accent sur la communication et la compréhension orales. Un cours de groupe comprend généralement les points suivants :

Exercices dirigés d'expression et de compréhension orales
Vocabulaire et structure de phrase
Correction et assignation de devoirs
Exercices de compréhension et d’expression écrites
Activités de communication et d'expression orales

Obtiendrai-je un diplôme ou un certificat à la fin du cours ?
Oui. Les étudiants reçoivent un certificat sur lequel se trouvent le nom du programme et le nombre d’heures suivies. De plus, les étudiants inscrits pour 2 semaines et plus reçoivent également une évaluation qualitative de leur professeur. Les documents sont signés par le directeur et le directeur des études, et par le professeur le cas échéant. L’obtention du certificat et de l'évaluation qualitative est conditionnelle à un taux de présence d’au moins 80 %.



Quand dois-je m’inscrire?
Nous vous recommandons de faire votre inscription au moins 4 semaines avant de commencer les cours. Cela est d’autant plus important si vous êtes aussi inscrit à notre programme d'hébergment puisque le jumelage se fait sur la base du principe premiers à payer, premiers servis.
 
Quand commencer un programme d'immersion?
Il est important de consulter le calendrier ►ici avant de s'inscrire à un programme d'immersion en français. Les étudiants de niveau débutant complet devraient s'inscrire aux dates qui correspondent à Arrivée niveau ÉQM 0. Les étudiants des autres niveaux devraient s'inscrire aux dates qui correspondent à Arrivée niveaux ÉQM 1 à 5.

Combien de temps dure une session de cours à École Québec Monde?
Le concept de session n'existe tout simplement pas à École Québec Monde. La longueur de votre séjour est à votre entière discrétion. Nous suggérons une durée minimale de 2 semaines afin que vous profitiez le plus possible de votre expérience linguistique.

Quels sont les jours pendant lesquels l'école est fermée?
Veuillez prendre note qu'École Québec Monde est fermée pendant les jours fériés suivants :
Jour de l'An - le 1er janvier
Vendredi saint - le vendredi précédant Pâques
Journée nationale des patriotes - le lundi précédant le 25 mai
Fête nationale du Québec - le 24 juin
Fête du Canada - le 1er juillet
Fête du Travail - le premier lundi de septembre
Action de grâces - le 2e lundi d'octobre
Noël - le 25 décembre
Et la semaine entre Noël et le Jour de l'An.
Nous vous invitons à consulter le calendrier ►ici pour plus de précision.

Quand dois-je payer?
Le paiement doit être fait en entier 14 jours avant le début du séjour d’immersion à École Québec Monde. Un premier paiement doit être fait au moment de l’inscription si un visa d'entrée au Canada est exigé.
 
Quel est le coût d'un séjour en immersion française à École Québec Monde?
Nos tarifs varient en fonction des choix faits lors de votre inscription. Les différents coûts sont inscrits ici.
 
Comment puis-je m’inscrire?
Comme vous naviguez déjà sur notre site web, la façon la plus simple est de s'inscrire directement en ligne ►ici. Vous pouvez aussi nous faire parvenir le formulaire par couriel, par télécopieur ou par la poste en prenant soin d’inclure tous les renseignements demandés dans le formulaire.
 
Qu’arrive-t-il si j’annule mon inscription à École Québec Monde?
La politique d'annulation des cours est détaillée ►ici. Nous vous invitons à la consulter.
 
Quelle est votre politique de remboursement si je suis refusé par l’immigration?
Pour nos étudiants étrangers, une lettre formelle de refus de l’ambassade canadienne est requise pour obtenir un remboursement. Veuillez consulter ►ici pour plus d'information à ce sujet.
 
Est-ce que quelqu’un peut venir me chercher à l’aéroport?
Non. En raison des retards, annulations et autres problèmes trop courants, nous devons cesser d'offrir l'accueil-aéroport. L'aéroport de Québec offre un service de taxi pour un coût approximatif de 35 $. Si vous le désirez, nous pouvons toutefois organiser le transport au moment de votre départ, que ce soit vers l'aéroport, le terminus ou la gare. Les arrangements se font directement à École Québec Monde.

Est-ce que j’ai besoin d’une assurance médicale pour étudier à École Québec Monde?
L’assurance médicale est obligatoire pour tous les étudiants d'École Québec Monde. Les étudiants canadiens sont couverts par leur assurance maladie provinciale. Il est important de vérifier auprès de votre province de résidence quelle est la procédure de remboursement et d'indemnisation. Veuillez noter qu'il est essentiel d'apporter sa carte d'assurance maladie. Les étudiants non canadiens inscrits à École Québec Monde doivent présenter, avant le début des cours, une preuve de l’assurance médicale contractée avant leur départ. École Québec Monde offre la possibilité de souscrire à son Régime d’assurance médicale au moment de l'inscription. Il est aussi possible de le faire sur place, avant le début des cours. Voyez plus d'information ►ici.



Quel type d’hébergement est offert par École Québec Monde?
Nous vous invitons à vous inscrire au service d'hébergment offert par les membres de notre superbe équipe d'hôtes et d'hôtesses francophones.

Quand dois-je m’inscrire?
Nous vous recommandons de faire votre inscription au moins 4 semaines avant de commencer les cours. Cela est particulièrement important si vous vous inscrivez pendant les mois de juin, juillet et août – au moment de la haute saison – puisque le jumelage se fait sur la base du principe premier à payer, premier servi.

Est-ce que les dates d'inscription au programme d'hébergement doivent correspondre à celles de mes cours?
Habituellement, les étudiants arrivent le dimanche avant le début de leurs cours et partent le samedi suivant la fin de leur cours. Tous les jours additionnels sont facturés à l’étudiant et sont soumis à la disponibilité. Les réglementations municipales imposent une limite d'une (1) nuit additionnelle au début et une (1) nuit à la fin du programme d'immersion.

Où sont situées les résidences de notre programme d'hébergement?
Quelques résidences sont situées à distance de marche d'École Québec Monde et toutes sont facilement accessibles en autobus. Un trajet dure entre 10 et 45 minutes selon l’emplacement.
 
Qui sont les membres de notre programme d'hébergement?
Notre équipe est composée d'hôtes et d'hôtesses francophones avec qui nous collaborons, pour la plupart, depuis plusieurs années. Nous connaissons chacune d'elle personnellement.
 
Dois-je contacter mes hôtes avant mon arrivée?
Oui, tout à fait. Nous vous encourageons vivement à les contacter le plus tôt possible avant votre arrivée. Ce faisant, vous êtes certain qu’il y aura quelqu’un pour vous accueillir. École Québec Monde vous fait parvenir leur adresse courriel et le numéro de téléphone sitôt votre inscription confirmée.  
 
Puis-je changer de résidence d'accueil?
Oui. Comme indiqué ►ici, des frais s'appliquent à toute demande de changement. De plus, à moins que ce ne soit une urgence, le changement prend effet le dimanche suivant la réception de la demande.

© 2018 École Québec Monde | Conception et programmation : IGM Informatique inc